David V. Stivison Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

To be eligible, an applicant must meet all of the following criteria:

  1. Be a resident of the 30-county COAD service area for at least one year before the application deadline.
  2. Reside in a household with a total annual income at or below 200% of the federal poverty guidelines.
  3. Have obtained or will obtain a high school degree or GED.
  4. Show proof of acceptance by an accredited 2-year or 4-¬year institution of higher education.

Eligible applicants will be required to submit a completed application form provided by COAD according to the instructions given. Applications will be solicited from area high schools and vocational schools in the 30-county service area. Non-traditional students may apply directly to local Community Action Agencies.

Applications must be submitted to the appropriate COAD-member Community Action Agency that serves the county where the applicant resides. A directory of participating Community Action Agencies and the thirty counties they serve can be found on COAD’s website.

The completed application must be submitted (postmarked) to the appropriate Community Action Agency by May 1 to be considered for funding for the academic year beginning in the Fall term of that year.

Each COAD-member Community Action Agency will determine whether eligibility criteria have been met, screen applicants and recommend applicants for consideration by COAD. COAD will review the applications submitted from member Community Action Agencies based on need, character, inclination, grades, and other factors it deems appropriate, except that it will not consider race, creed, color, age, sex, political affiliation, national origin, familial status or disability in making decisions.

Preference will be given to first year students who plan to attend either a 2­-year or 4-year institution of higher education within the 30-county COAD service area, unless the field of study chosen by the applicant is not offered by any of these institutions. The awards will be final and will be announced by May 20.